04
Apr
08

In Memory of Frank Zappa – America’s Free Speech Warrior

frank-zappa.jpg

Frank Zappa was a true original and a musical genius. His avant-garde compositions, which defy classification, consist of jazz improvisations, straight ahead rock jams, and glorious symphonic arrangements. Zappa was a strident non-conformist who rejected externally imposed boundaries on his music, beliefs, and the fundamental human right to exercise free speech.

One of my favorite Zappa songs is named “Bobby Brown”. It is about a punk who went from being a pretty boy rapist to a S&M sub and urinal for freaks and trannies. It is a catchy ditty that is easily accessible for Zappa neophytes.

Hey there, people, I’m bobby brown
They say I’m the cutest boy in town
My car is fast, my teeth is shiney
I tell all the girls they can kiss my heinie
Here I am at a famous school
I’m dressin sharp ‘n’ I’m actin’ cool
I got a cheerleader here wants to help with my paper
Let her do all the work ‘n’ maybe later Ill rape herOh God I am the American dream
I do not think I’m too extreme
An’ I’m a handsome sonofabitch
I’m gonna good job ‘n’ be real rich

Women’s liberation
Came creepin all across the nation
I tell you people, I was not ready
When I fucked this dyke by the name of freddie
She made a little speech then,
Aw, she tried to make me say when
She had my balls in a vice, but she left the dick
I guess its still hooked on, but now it shoots too quick

Oh God I am the American dream,
But now I smell like vaseline
An I’m a miserable sonofabitch
Am I a boy or a lady…I don’t know which

So I went out ‘n’ bought me a leisure suit
I jingle my change, but I’m still kinda cute
Got a job doin’ radio promo
An none of the jocks can tell I’m a homo
Eventually me ‘n’ a friend
Sorta drifted along into S&M
I can take about an hour on the tower of power
‘Long as I gets a little golden shower

Oh God I am the American dream
With a spindle up my butt till it makes me scream
An I’ll do anything to get ahead
I lay awake nights sayin’, “Thank you, Fred!”
Oh God, oh God, I’m so fantastic!
Thanks to Freddie, I’m a sexual spastic
And my name is Bobby Brown
Watch me now; I’m going’ down

Frank went head to head with self-righteous bitches like Tipper Gore who desperately tried to censor the musical landscape with labeling requirements. The Parents Musical Resource Center (PMRC) was a batch of frigid Washington D.C. wives who did not get the rogering they needed at home, so they took it out their collective sexual frustration on musicians. Zappa, Judas Priest, Prince, and other 80’s artists were threatened with oppressive measures that would damage their record sales and have a chilling-effect on free speech.

In one of my favorite clips, Zappa deconstructs Right-Wing speech fascists like Robert “Valeria Plame leaker” Novak on CNN’s Crossfire. Notice how the turd blossom on the left, John Lofton, tried his best to get Frank’s goat. Zappa wasn’t hearing that shit and had to educate these fools on the 1st Amendment. True soldier to the hilt!

The illusion of freedom will continue as long as it’s profitable to continue the illusion. At the point where the illusion becomes too expensive to maintain, they will just take down the scenery, they will pull back the curtains, they will move the tables and chairs out of the way, and you will see the brick wall at the back of the theater ~ Frank Zappa


45 Responses to “In Memory of Frank Zappa – America’s Free Speech Warrior”


  1. 1 Glenn
    April 4, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Wow Johnny,

    I do remember Zappa and the Mothers of Invention. In fact, I saw him in concert at the Fox Theater in Atlanta in 1980. I don’t remember much, as I was very stoned indeed. But his guitar made me trip. I don’t remember another guitarist ever who tuned and retuned his guitar in concert as much as Frank. A real prefectionist with his craft.

  2. 2 Quixo's Shrink
    April 4, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Glenn, the Fox is great, its an icon in my city.

  3. 3 Glenn
    April 4, 2008 at 7:05 pm

    Quixo:

    I lived in Atlanta for several years from the mid-80s to 1996. Prior to that, I went to college in Millegeville — which Sherman also burned to a crisp. What a piro, huh?

  4. 4 Manco
    April 5, 2008 at 12:22 am

    Quixo: Not that I care or anything, but this is not the site to divulge your residential information.

  5. April 5, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Great post! I couldn’t agree more with your assessment of Mr. Zappa.
    Perhaps you might be interested in participating in the Feast Of Zappadan which occurs in December, between the dates of Mr. Zappas birth and death.
    This will be the third annual Zappadan celebration and it all links with the aristocrats.blogspot.com. It is very enlightening to discover how many people have been affected by Zappa and how much greaqt archival material continues to appear each year!
    Myself, I have been a Zappa fan since I was 16 and got to see him abuse the rising stage at The Ford Auditorium in Detroit. The Mothers played a set which consisted of a half hour of recreations of greasy doo wop with Zappa announcing the Title, The Artist and the label and record number of each song. Then a number of ditties off the Freak Out Album and a finished with a embryonic version of King Kong!

  6. 6 Glenn
    April 5, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Manco:

    Atlanta is a huge city nowadays. I doubt anyone’s coming there to harm Quixo. Plus, amidst all the heavy material that we deal with on this blog and day-to-day, I find it a breath of fresh air to communicate with a resident of my favorite city!

  7. April 5, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Glenn, I love the city. Lived here my whole life.

    Macno, 6million in ATL,

  8. 8 Glenn
    April 5, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Taylor, I lived there for many years. I left in July 1996 for South Florida primarily because of my aversion to cold weather. My last winter there was horrible. I just can’t stand freezing, especially as I get older.

    But I did have a blast through the ’80s there. That was before the city got the Olympic bid in ’90 and Corporate America moved down, tripling the size of the city.

    Do you remember an old greasy spoon called the Majestic Diner on Ponce Deleon. I used to live down the road in North Decatur on Scott Blvd. and Clairmont Road, so when I couldn’t sleep, I’d drive 10 minutes for a bite.

    I also loved to hang out at Piedmont Park in the Spring and Fall, which to this day is my favorite park in the U.S. I also loved Little Five Points and Virginia Highlands, where my yoga school was.

    BTW: If you love good Italian food, Alfredo’s on Cheshire Bridge Rd., right off I-85, is phenomenal. I frequented that place since 1980. Great food, service, and ambiance!

  9. April 6, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Yes, I know Majestic Diner, I was born near Scott BLVD in Decatur and a year ago I lived in an apartment on Clairmont, but closer to Atlanta and Buckhead not in Decatur.

    One of my favorite eateries is The Silver Skillet in downtown, there breakfast food is so good.

    Little Five Points is crazy. So much weird stuff.

  10. April 6, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Yea, Piedmont is cool, now they do this thing called “Screen on the Green” where they have a huge movie theatre sized screen at the park and they air classic movies.

  11. April 6, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Atlanta has grown a lot more since 1996 too. Now we have our very own “Trump Towers”. hah

  12. 12 Glenn
    April 6, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Taylor:

    You have to figure the Donald would have eventually showed up in Atlanta. But it just sounds so strange. He probably went there to fire the excessive work force. (LOL)

    The Piedmont Park “Screen on the Green” sounds awesome. I mean, who doesnt’ like classic flicks?

  13. April 6, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Yea, here is a pic I found online of screen on green.

  14. 14 Glenn
    April 6, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Thanks Taylor!

    That pic meant a great deal to me. I believe this is that time of the year when people start frequenting Piedmont. BTW: Do they still have Bike and Roller Blade rental shops across from the park, not to mention the little café in between?

  15. 15 Manco
    April 6, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Guys, this isn’t Match.com, okay? Why don’t you exchange phone numbers or email addresses or something?

  16. April 6, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    awww sorry Manco, not getting enough attention at your moonbat conventions lately?

  17. 17 Manco
    April 7, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Hey, prick, this isn’t your space to engage in hook-ups with older men, okay? All I’m saying is if you guys want to continue this crap take it to email or some other forum. You’re not the only two people who come to this blog. Many people come to this blog every day to read Johnny’s posts as well as to see what people are commenting about regarding the TOPIC OF THE POST. They don’t come here to see your useless ass going back and forth with Mr. Happy talking about irrelevant nonsense. Just take it somewhere else, you creep.

    Taylor, it’s a good thing this forum does not take place in person because I would have had enough of your brainless meanderings a long time ago.

  18. April 7, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Sorry fellas, but Manco is right. This isn’t your Adult Friend Finder bathhouse chat forum. I am more than happy when elders of the NAMBLA brotherhood find fresh meat (that is of the age of majority), but this isn’t the place. If you cannot discuss the topic of the post, or a tangentially related subject, you need to keep your correspondences private. Please do not bitch about the right to free speech. Dillsnap Cogitations is not a state actor.

  19. April 7, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Alright guys, you can tell people to get back on topic without accusing them of being homosexuals, thats grade-school name-calling at its finest.

    Manco, do people bitch every time you go off topic on one of your famous conspiracy theory rants? No.

    And what are you threatening me? LOL my keyboard is shaking.

    And God forbid someone mentions my city and I opine (think of the children!)

  20. April 7, 2008 at 12:26 am

    And Manco, you think you scare me, I’m a young 23 who would work some old-timer like you.

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    You tell em’ Joe Buck. Just don’t stuff a telephone in Manco’s mouth when you do your business.

  21. April 7, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Why, you afraid the big-bad government will somehow monitor the phone and send waves into his brain to control him and turn him into a cyborg zionist halliburton robot?

    That is what you guys think right?

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    No, it was a reference to the movie Midnight Cowboy. I will research the information that you brought up though.

  22. April 7, 2008 at 12:37 am

    You should, but I will go ahead and tell you that there is only one way to protect against it….

    http://people.csail.mit.edu/rahimi/helmet/

  23. 23 Manco
    April 7, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Taylor, if the shoe fits: your correspondence with Glenn, the hippy dippy park traveler, was starting to drift into “two girls chatting it up in a coffee house” territory. if that’s your business, have at it, but do it somewhere else. we’re trying to talk about the New World Order and the fall of America here.

    Taylor, you insignificant little shit. Here’s the funny thing: I haven’t gone off topic when commenting to this post or any other post. I stay on point and deliver the goods, unlike you who have yet to provide one significant thought to any of the discussions here. My famous conspiracy theory rants are right at home here so tell me again, rat face, how I’m off topic?

    No one gives two shits about your piss-stained little city. I live in a city, Johnny lives in a city, a lot of people live in a city; It’s not a big fucking deal. And, furthermore, once the comments start multiplying you should have the common sense and courtesy to continue your boring conversation with Glen “Where Eagles Dare” somewhere else. We don’t give a shit.

    I’m not threatening you. I just think you’re a little punk, that’s all
    How ya gonna work me, big boy? Over the couch or in the shower?

  24. April 7, 2008 at 12:45 am

    Manco, I am a happily straight man.

    I HAVE however noticed that on another thread you went off topic on some sort of homo rant. But when you go off topic=good, I go off topic=bad.

    New world order? Someone watches too much you-tube.

  25. 25 Manco
    April 7, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Taylor: You’re a liar. You’re about as straight as Richard Simmons. Come on, let’s make Glenn jealous.

    Taylor: You’ll have to post the rant you’re referring to in order to make your point. And even if I did, go off topic, that’s once out of how many comments on how many posts? You, on the other hand, continue to lower the intellectual bar for this site.

    Youtube? Who needs Youtube when you have the printed word.

    “”[The war in Iraq is] a rare opportunity to move toward an historic period of cooperation. Out of these troubled times…a New World Order can emerge.” – George H.W. Bush, 41st US President, CIA Director, CFR Director, Trilateralist, Yale Skull & Bones Society speaking before Congress on September 11, 1990 (interesting date, eh?) in a speech Bush entitled “Toward a New World Order”

    Want to keep making an ass out of yourself, Taylor?

    “If the people knew what we had done, they would chase us down the street and lynch us.” – George H.W. Bush to journalist Sarah McClendon (December 1992), in response to a question about Iraq-gate and the Iran-Contra Affair.

    Go back to bed, Taylor. Your government is in control.

  26. April 7, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    A new world order as in, democracy and order everywhere. Not some evil sinister plot to enslave the world. You read too many comic books.

  27. 27 Manco
    April 7, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Taylor: Is the concept of democracy and order universal? Who is George H.W. Bush to determine what constitutes true order and democracy? What are the guidelines and how does it affect each person’s perception of culture, religion, sociology, etc?

    And I don’t think he was talking about democracy and order when he said the people would lynch him and his cohorts if we ever found out the truth.

    If your only reply is going to consist of witless replies like “You read too many comic books”, then I think the chances of you ever contributing postively to these subjects is growing less and less.

  28. 28 Glenn
    April 7, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Taylor:

    Let’s keep this easy. Please email me at freespirit1038@aol.com. I would like to continue our converstation without input from that in-breed, brain-dead, cold, distant, control-freek, died-in-the-wool redneck Manco. BTW: I too am a quite straight male.

    And Manco, you bigoted S.O.B., you really don’t want to f**k with me. I might be retired, but still have the connections to locate you and have your gonads cut off and shoved down your throat.

    So try me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    __________________________________________________________________

    Johnny, with all due respect: I’m sorry if my cross converstations with Taylor was a problem. It certainly won’t happen again. But that Manco did stick his/her nose where it didn’t belong. It was for you to complain! And he/she is one rude, archaic piece of work!

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    No problem Glenn. I recommend that you not make direct threats of physical violence to others on my blog though. I would hate to be dragged into a civil or criminal suit because I published your comment. I advise you to retract your above comment and make nice with Manco. Surely you can understand my predicament and concern.

  29. April 7, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Huh? Are you all messing with me now? WTF?

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    Do not resist Taylor. This could be the start of a beautiful friendship. Do not allow yourself to be restrained by conventional morality or society’s view of the ideal coupling. Lose yourself in the possibilities of unbounded carnal ecstasy.

  30. April 8, 2008 at 9:56 am

    hahah Shut up Peepers, I know you all are just messing with me.

  31. 31 Manco
    April 8, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Glenn: I refuse to censor myself out of fear of physical violence. This is a public forum, and therefore ideas are going to be expressed, facetiously or not, that you’re not going to agree with. If your reaction to something you don’t like or agree with is the fear of cutting nuts off and serving them for brunch then I believe you’re a little too high-strung for this place and may want to consider avoiding this blog in the future.
    Furthermore, I do not feel I stuck my nose where it didn’t belong. Again, this is a public forum and your back-and-forth with Taylor was posted for all to see. And if I was so wrong in criticizing you and Taylor for being well outside the topic, then why did the writer of this blog – Johnny – also ask for everyone to stay on or near topic? And the homosexual comments: Taylor responded rationally and calmly, denouncing my assertion. You, on the other hand, went psycho. Why?

    In closing: I like reading this blog and I intend to continue leaving comments. Your psychotic reaction to my innocuous comments does not scare me, Glenn. If you feel the need to contact people and come looking for me, that’s your choice. I’ll be watching.

  32. April 9, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Jeezopizza, this is just loverly. This might just well be the most entertaining blog going!
    Beliggerent blather at its best!
    I’m just a scrub league second string bench warmer compared to you guys!
    I am so pleased that a post on Frank Zappa could induce such ecstatic anarchy!

  33. 33 Manco
    April 9, 2008 at 8:43 am

    Microdot: we don’t have time for scrub league bench warmers. Come correct or get the fuck out of here.

  34. April 10, 2008 at 9:56 am

    I’m not sure what you are trying to communicate, but I think you are trying to have an overly agressive relationship with my avatar. Boys, don’t let me stop you. Go to it, get down and writhe in the primal pixels and make sure to post the photos!
    Who or what is we?

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    Po-Jama people!

  35. April 10, 2008 at 11:44 am

    I give a B+ for alliteration!

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    Maybe it is a misprint on my copy of FZ’s “One Size Fits All.” I will independently verify.

  36. 36 Glenn
    April 10, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Manco:

    You are right. I was out of line. I don’t demand much from others, but bigotry sends me over the line. I had no idea whether you were joking or not. Unlike the spoken word, I can’t read your tone of voice of facial expression by reading it.

    So let’s start all over, okay?

    BTW: I am not gay, and although I’m 55, I am physically and mentally far younger than my years would indicate.

  37. April 15, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Incredible post, I just love Zappa and feel like I was totally born at the wrong time. Johnny, you have proven to be one of my favorite thinkers on this here inter web. You are compassionate, kind and brilliant. People don’t know what to make of you b/c they are just not paying attention. Your good will is often misinterpreted. Ignorance and arrogance find their way into everything, no matter how much that isn’t the idea. You with me brother? I thought so. Your friend, Veronica

  38. April 18, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I want to have my DNA taken to the far ends of the Milkyway. Someone should order small plastic vials from the manufacturer using the green Thomas industrial catolog at the public library, look up vials /plastic. Next have someone make a kids rubber helium party baloon that is 1 inch bigger when its inflated so it goes higher in the sky. Have it made with glow in the dark stuff that shines at night. It will take two rubber baloons tied together to carry up the plastic vial taped to one of the baloons. Proceed to get poke-em lancets from the drug store to prick your finger. Now Space-Aliens flying in invisible craft in Earths skies could retrieve a drop of your blood when you release the baloons over the desert or nature park. Go ahead and dab a drop of blood onto the surface of the baloon instead if you want, then only one baloon is needed. Your baloon might be recognized by the Aliens up there. Or you might find the whole idea a bad thing. Should people who believe there is Aliens visiting our solor system send out a spacecraft way past Pluto that has a supply of fruit tree, vegetable and berry seeds so the Extra-terrestial star travellers can take it home?

  39. 39 Matthew
    May 10, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    This was a very entertaining battle, it should be no surprise that two intelligent people would team up on two “not so intelligent people”. You know who you are.

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    Matthew,

    I would appreciate it if you would not insult those who comment on my blog. Ridiculing individuals by denoting their lack of intelligence is not very Christian. WWJD?

  40. August 21, 2008 at 6:12 am

    Круто, спасибо! 😉

  41. February 13, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Hey everybody!

    Been lurking here for a while and finally decided to register and post a message of my own.

    Just to introduce myself, my name is Jill and I really like reading, my dogs, and to [url=http://www.watchgossipgirl.org]watch gossip girl season 2 online[/url] (this is my favorite site to do it at).

    So thanks for the great forum and hope to meet you all soon!

  42. 42 derth saklop
    September 14, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    There will be no time travel in biuldings take it out to the desert. there will be no magical interdemensional science of time warps whereever theres a doorway. There will be no phase them or wink out of existance weopons allowed on the planet people that can pass there hands through objects must leave to a space station as long as the planet exist.

  43. 44 kkk@whitepride.com
    September 20, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    cute nanite machine get s out of the little vial at the gov facility a million for new batteries that dont feel like phaser rifels in his chest sacred geometry beutifull math a 8 block fun tunnel city blocks that is with lots of heaters 60 degrees farenhite garenteed

  44. 45 ironysteele
    December 17, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    i have always loved this clip of zappa. when he says we are headed toward a fascist theocracy he was spot on!! i wish there were more like him.


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,067,081 hits

Archives


