23
Apr
08

Up The Hill Backwards

I wanted to write a post on this David Bowie song a while back, but I could not any video. Thankfully, a nice bloke on the YouTube recently uploaded a clip. The conventional take on this song is that it was based on the media coverage surrounding David and Angela’s divorce. Be that as it may, like all great art, the interpretation is subjective to the recipient.

To me, Up The Hill Backwards speaks to the calming effect of achieving true individual freedom (Mind Power). We are all capable of reaching this mental state. The government sponsored propaganda machine has no effect on those who reject their widely disseminated lies, fear-mongering shock doctrine operations, and blatant attempts to psychologically herd us.

By manufacturing panic, and immediately issuing promises of false security, their goal is to manipulate and enslave minds like a puppeteer controlling marionette strings. What if no one listened? What if no one bought the propaganda?

In reality, it has nothing to do with you. Only those who fear the imaginary Scary Monsters will be subjected to their evil clutches. Only those who refuse to disable their handler’s auto-pilot group-think fear promotion devices will be led blindly to their mind-controlled cell-block compartments. It does not have to be that way.

The vacuum created by the arrival of freedom
And the possibilities it seems to offer
It’s got nothing to do with you, if one can grasp it
It’s got nothing to do with you, if one can grasp it

A series of shocks – sneakers fall apart
Earth keeps on rolling – witnesses falling
It’s got nothing to do with you, if one can grasp it
It’s got nothing to do with you, if one can grasp it

Yeah, yeah, yeah – up the hill backwards
It’ll be alright ooo-ooo

While we sleep they go to work
We’re legally crippled it’s the death of love
It’s got nothing to do with you, if one can grasp it
It’s got nothing to do with you, if one can grasp it

More idols then realities
I’m OK, you’re so-so

Yeah, yeah, yeah – up the hill backwards
It’ll be alright ooo-ooo

Scary Monsters, super creeps, keep me running, running scared ~ David Bowie


14 Responses to “Up The Hill Backwards”


  1. 1 Taylor
    April 23, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    You must be smokin ice or crack Peepers.

  2. 2 Manco
    April 23, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Shut the fuck up, Taylor.

  3. 3 Taylor
    April 23, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Look Peepers’ lap dog comes to the rescue once again.

  4. 4 Taylor
    April 24, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Peepers I was joking by the way, but its nice to see your loyal servant is always at hand.

  5. 5 Manco
    April 24, 2008 at 9:43 am

    I’ve stated my position several times where it concerns you, Taylor. Obviously you aren’t able to comprehend simple data. I could give a fuck for Peepers. He writes an interesting blog with some profound topics put forth, but he is also a degenerate sex deviant, drug addict and self-described “christ warrior”, all three attributes that I find personally appalling.
    However, for all of his problems, he is able to string a thought together from time to time unlike you. How sad it is that you, a college-educated twit, are less interesting than a pill-head like Peepers.
    Maybe one day, Taylor. Maybe one day you will leave a comment that doesn’t continue to highlight your crushing ignorance and stupidity. Until that day comes, all I can simply say/write to you is “Shut the fuck up, Taylor”.

  6. April 24, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Great post Peeps. You are so correct. The lies would not scare us, if we simply didn’t believe in them and thus react to them. We are born and taught to believe everything we are told – it’s a thought process that is not easy to let go. Hell, I truly believed in Santa when I was a kid. I was actually devastated when I was told he was not real. And to think, we don’t want to hurt our children, but we feed them seemingly harmless lies. Thanks for keeping your posts interesting and provocative. Thanks for keeping it radical and real. It’s a welcomed change from my blog of honeysuckle, roses, and warm spring breezes. It keeps me “balanced” if you know what I mean. Together, we make perfect harmony.

    Peace, Light and Love,
    CordieB.

  7. 7 Taylor
    April 24, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Not a graduate for another week , Mancompany. I have three finals left and I’m off to making money.

  8. 8 Taylor
    April 24, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    Hey Peepers, I thought you’d like this article. This is the newest addition to my fine city. They call it the “bum bot”

    http://gizmodo.com/360585/homemade-bumbot-wages-war-on-riff+raff

  9. April 24, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    JP,

    Wanna know what I love about you? It’s your mind. Deviantly, delightfully fragmented. You’re like this onion….based on your photo, you’re an onion with encaphaly, but a multi-layered onion, nonetheless.

    You left a comment at my regarding “jinns”. That you know what one is and can reference it in the same comment which also included Allah in a blog post about God, blows me away.

    Kudos to your intellectual DNA.

    LK

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    Thank you Laurie, that is a true compliment. I very much enjoy your humor, intelligence, and zest for life. You are a kind and gentle soul who will be blessed with many virile young male servants in the afterlife. They will have swarthy complexions, emerge coated in olive oil, and will cater to your every carnal whim.

  10. 10 Frank
    April 25, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Johnnypeepers, yesterday you visited my blog leaving a warm and inciteful suggestion on my blog telling me to focus on my purpose here on earth. It is a something that I have often questioned, but you seem to know regardless! And so, I needed to find out where you are and see how others find you.

    Reading your blog is a journey into a very intelligent mind, the workings of which would be great to have just a little of–a nibble that once you get a tiny bite you need to be infused with more.

    Maybe if I nibble enough I might broaden my scope of understanding in a new realm.
    Thanks johnnypeepers,
    Frank http://crepusculum60.wordpress.com

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    Thank you for the kind words Franky. I try do my little part in this crazy world. I am glad that you found my words helpful. I don’t have any answers though, just more questions.

  11. 11 Frank
    April 25, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Johnnypeepers, yesterday you visited my blog and left a very inciteful comment, one that tells me you already know the answer. It lead me here to see where you are and who you are.

    Your blog, your writings, you are all very amazing, particulary you Johnnypeepers because your mind makes me want to know more–a little nibble of what is there makes me wish I have more and as I imagine our blogs juxtapoxed to each other I see even more how much you are able to grasp the essence of things.

    Thank you Johnnypeepers for leaving your comment because now I can come here, read and enjoy your candid perceptions of the world around us.

  12. 12 Manco
    April 25, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Frank: I think Johnny will have no problem with you nibbling him. I knew this guy whose sister dated a guy who knew a girl who Peepers tried to kidnap who said that Peepers told her he likes to be bitten, flailed with a belt buckle and tickeled incessantly until the moment of ejaculatory bliss.

    That’s the word anyway.

  13. April 26, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Your interpretation is interesting and possibly valid but I’m pretty sure Bowie was practicing cutup technique when he wrote this album so I doubt he was thinking what you were thinking not that that matters much.


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,072,096 hits

Archives


