23
May
08

Psycho Killer

Make no bones about it, I dig the Talking Heads. In my ill-researched opinion, they were the most promising ejectile shot from the Rhode Island School of Design cannon. These cats were quirky, funky, cerebral, and projected a synergistic energy that elevated them far above their MTV pre-fab peers.

The groups’s bassist, Tina Weymouth, recalled how the band selected the name Talking Heads: “A friend had found the name in the TV Guide, which explained the term used by TV studios to describe a head-and-shoulder shot of a person talking as ‘all content, no action.’ It fit.”

Psycho Killer is, of course, a perennial favorite of any TH fan (it always sends a maniacal tingle down my spine). I tend to identify with the protagonist’s disdain for muthafuckas running off at the mouth needlessly. According to David Byrne:

When I started writing this (I got help later), I imagined Alice Cooper doing a Randy Newman-type ballad. Both the Joker and Hannibal Lecter were much more fascinating than the good guys. Everybody sort of roots for the bad guys in movies.

Ice-T identified Psycho Killer as an influential motivation for the Body Count song “Cop Killa.” But of course, we all know that Interscope, Geffen, Death Row, and Def Jam were all cultural terrorist fronts designed to sow racial discord by perpetuating urban/whitey divisions. Who gives a shit about that – the Talking Heads opened for the fucking Ramones at CBGBs.

This is a bad ass clip of Psycho Killer from the BBC Old Grey Whistle test show.

I cant seem to face up to the facts
I’m tense and nervous and I
Can’t relax
I can’t sleep cause my beds on fire
Dont touch me Im a real live wire

Psycho killer
Quest que cest
Fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa far better
Run run run run run run run away
Psycho killer
Quest que cest
Fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa far better
Run run run run run run run away

You start a conversation you cant even finish it.
Youre talkin a lot, but youre not sayin anything.
When I have nothing to say, my lips are sealed.
Say something once, why say it again?

Psycho killer,
Quest que cest
Fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa far better
Run run run run run run run away
Psycho killer
Quest que cest
Fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa fa far better
Run run run run run run run away

Stick to your instincts ~ Tina Weymouth


1 Response to “Psycho Killer”


  1. 1 DROCK
    May 23, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I use to luv the talkin heads..


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,072,096 hits

Archives


