17
Jun
08

Cortez the Killer

Cortez The Killer by Neil Young

He came dancing across the water
With his galleons and guns
Looking for the new world
In that palace in the sun.

On the shore lay Montezuma
With his coca leaves and pearls
In his halls he often wondered
With the secrets of the worlds.

And his subjects gathered ’round him
Like the leaves around a tree
In their clothes of many colors
For the angry gods to see.

And the women all were beautiful
And the men stood straight and strong
They offered life in sacrifice
So that others could go on.

Hate was just a legend
And war was never known
The people worked together
And they lifted many stones.

They carried them to the flatlands
And they died along the way
But they built up with their bare hands
What we still can’t do today.

And I know she’s living there
And she loves me to this day
I still can’t remember when
Or how I lost my way.

He came dancing across the water
Cortez, Cortez
What a killer.


18 Responses to “Cortez the Killer”


  1. June 19, 2008 at 1:13 am

    Neil is truly a poet.

  2. June 21, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Thanks for sharing this video, Johnny.

  3. 3 dummidumbwit
    June 23, 2008 at 12:16 am

    Excellent post, I’m hard Pressed to pick between Cortez the Killer and Helpless as all time favorites, keep up the good work!! Your Stat meter says it all?

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    Neil wrote dozens of incredible songs. “Powderfinger” is my runner-up favorite. Thanks for the input.

  4. June 25, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    “Raised my rifle to my eye
    Never stopped to wonder why.
    Then I saw black,
    And my face splashed in the sky.”

    JP, Agreed – one of my all time favorites – raging guitar work…

  5. June 25, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Right on qazse. I have yet to hear a definitive meaning as to the song’s subject matter, but in a way that is a good thing. It means whatever you want it to. Seeing Neil play that live was one of the highlights of my life (along with getting Sonny Rollin’s autograph).

  6. June 26, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    I agree on the meaning stuff…

    You are a fortunate man to be able to say you saw Neil live.

    Are you a sax man?

  7. June 27, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Naw, just a jazz lover.

  8. 9 dummidumbwit
    June 29, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Goddammit Johnny, your Isle of Wright post caused me to decide to try my personal imitation by posting Ommadawn and the Stat meter hardly moved. I noticed your Tiolet Paper post is doing excellently thought so I put a goofy post up to move the meter along, I wanna hit 2000 by 5 PM monday.

  9. 10 Manco
    June 30, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Dummi: You’re a pathetic worm. Please, someone, anyone, go to Dummi’s blog and pay him some attention so he’ll feel better about himself.
    I’m happy your priorities are in order, Dummi. God knows 2000 visits to your blog by 5 PM Monday is terribly important if the world is to survive.

  10. 11 dummidumbwit
    June 30, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    711pm 1981 hits, it wasn’t that important, just a goal and I missed this time, but I tried anyway.

  11. July 1, 2008 at 1:09 am

    dummidumbwit: Some artists, writers, and bloggers are just way too ahead of their time. Your genius will be recognized in due time. Do not try to force the clock. Although, a hand full of Mandrax, or a well positioned 12-gauge shotgun blast, might send your hit count into the stratosphere.

  12. 13 dummidumbwit
    January 14, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Johnny, I want to post this vid on my blog but I feel like I would be stepping on your toes if I didn’t ask for permission or a least a OK?

  13. January 14, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    dd: It don’t make me none dd, feel free to post it. I think the song needs more exposure anyhow.

  14. 15 dummidumbwit
    March 17, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    They zapped it Johnny, sorry??

  15. March 18, 2009 at 12:18 am

    We got our memories though. They can’t exert frivolous copyright claims on our gray matter – yet.

  16. 17 dummidumbwit
    March 22, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    They won, I looked at various live versions, one was even pretty good except Neil looked old and was wearing a huge cowboy hat and I liked the deleted one for the pictures of Aztec stuff anyway so I zapped the whole thing till I ever find another good version, I looked for an hour at least?? It was probably my fault WMG looks at Utube stuff all the time, and I may make it easier, I like Eastkie versions now trusting the distance and absence of Lawyers in the Old East Bloc and China to keep posts safer (links only now) longer?

  17. March 22, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    They may have achieved a temporary foothold, but the war for information liberation will favor those whose tireless effort will guarantee their ultimate destruction. Private property, and the endless myriad of deceitful legal tools used to shield their house of cards from our onslaught, is but a mere transparent and crumbling fiction.


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,061,374 hits

Archives


