09
Jul
08

Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues

The Kink’s album Muswell Hillbillies is helluva record. Ray Davie’s prescient lyrical pronouncement on the 20th century mechanical nightmare, the oppressive welfare state (with their civil servants dressed in gray), and the technocrat-engineered computerized community was a bit ahead of its time for 1971. But then again, so was Orwell’s 1984 and Huxley’s Brave New World (but Georgie and Aldie had some inside scoops on the upcoming agenda).

Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues is a number I can identify with. Maybe it has something to do with my constant battle with compulsive reclusivity, paranoia, and a compromised mental health gene pool. Maybe I just dig the 20’s era inspired New Orleans jazz licks. Either way, I appreciate the Kinks putting it to wax. Enjoy this live version from ’73.

I’m too terrified to walk out of my own front door,
They’re demonstrating outside I think they’re gonna start the third world war,
I’ve been to my local head shrinker,
To help classify my disease,
He said it’s one of the cases of acute schizophrenia he sees.

Well the milkman’s a spy, and the grocer keeps on following me,
And the woman next door’s an undercover for the K.G.B.,
And the man from the Social Security
Keeps on invading my privacy,
Oh there ain’t no cure for acute schizophrenia disease.

I’ve got acute schizophrenia, paranoia too,
Schizophrenia, schizophrenia,
I’ve got it, you’ve got it, we can’t lose,
Acute schizophrenia blues.

I’m lost on the river, the river of no return,
I can’t make decisions, I don’t know which way I’m gonna turn,
Even my old dad, lost some of the best friends he ever had,
Apparently, his was a case of acute schizophrenia too.

I got acute schizophrenia, paranoia too,
Schizophrenia, schizophrenia,
I’ve got it, you’ve got it, we can’t lose,

They’re watching my house and they’re tapping my telephone,
I don’t trust nobody, but I’m much too scared to be on my own
And the income tax collector’s got his beady eye on me,
No there ain’t no cure for acute schizophrenia disease.

No there ain’t no cure for
Schizophrenia disease


5 Responses to “Acute Schizophrenia Paranoia Blues”


  1. July 9, 2008 at 5:39 am

    What’s not to like about the kinks.

  2. 2 Manco
    July 9, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Sex Mahoney: Just enjoy the damn song, dick face. We already know the Kinks were a great band. We don’t need your ass verifying it. What the fuck, man? Do you have anything to add regarding the lyrics or the instrumentation? No? Then shut the fuck up.

  3. July 10, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Go easy on Mahoney Manco, he is a sensitive POM who ain’t used to Yank attacks over the Internets. The only reason Mahoney likes the Kinks is because Arthur took the wife and kids down under to start a new life.


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,072,185 hits

Archives


