15
Jul
08

Where The Wild Things Are

As a little chilrun’, Where the Wild Things Are was one of my favorite books. I would visualize myself as the the little boy in the book (Max) taking out my aggressions with a hammer on a wall. It was comforting to know that I wasn’t the only youngster suffering from psychological disturbances manifesting in property damage (even if Max was only a cartoon).

I targeted the family pet like Max did (but mine was a cat named Trickle, instead of a dog). I could make him defecate on demand with my terror tactics. One time he dropped six steamy little black balls after being cornered and traumatized with no hope for escape. I am certain that Trickle will be tormenting me in the afterlife.

Max’s wolf-suit was an emotional facade that he donned to deal with his short-term troubles. The whole time he was wearing it, he was frontin’ on his ma, the dog, and the beasts that he tamed. When he came home for supper, and pulled his wolf hoodie off, he transformed back into a little boy. The wolf suit was Max’s imagined alter-ego that he used to cope with his emotions. As grown-ups, we also employ a variety of situationally-determinant personality masks to get us through the day.


7 Responses to “Where The Wild Things Are”


  1. July 16, 2008 at 2:51 am

    a couple of things. first, trickle is a solid name for a pet. also, my post college depression is taking over and the real world is pissing me off– i need to get one of those wolf suits and relive my childhood by reading this superb example of children’s fiction. thanks for the reminder.

  2. July 16, 2008 at 5:56 am

    They should have eaten that kid.

    Sex Mahoney for President

  3. July 16, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Sweet. That was one of my favorite books as a child, too!

  4. July 17, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Kathleen: Thanks for stopping in Kathleen. I am sorry to hear about your psychological difficulties. I think your method of combating your problem is a positive one. Donning a wolf suit and reading kid’s books is preferable to drugs, alcohol, promiscuity, or suicide.

    Sex Mahoney: The savages should have eaten Colonel Kurtz too, but they didn’t.

    FW: I think we were all forced to read it at some point in time. Although, only a special select few look back in awe and appreciation at this marvelous children’s book. Thank you for dropping in and being a loyal Dillsnap Cogitations reader 🙂

  5. 5 c
    July 18, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    i’ve never read this book.
    i’ve seen it before, but never read it myself.

  6. July 18, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Maurice Sendak is also famous for Little Bear, which my children and I love! He is a truly marvelous illustrator.

  7. July 19, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    When i was child, I liked The Adventures of Tintin, a series of comic strips created by Belgian artist Hergé, the pen name of Georges Remi..
    Stories sound racist and somehow follow an esp political viewpoint, and alittle anti communism.. But i liked it, bcs the hero was an adventurer journalist.. 😉


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,076,749 hits

Archives


