23
Jul
08

Estelle Getty R.I.P. (1923-2008)

Yesterday was truly a sad day for fans of The Golden Girls, and lovers of life the World over. July 22nd marked the passing of a great actress, wife, and mother. Estelle Getty was the glue that held together the often feuding Floridian glamour girls of the small screen.

She began her career in New York Yiddish theater and worked as a comedienne in the borscht belt resorts of the Catskills. Estelle won multiple Emmy and Golden Globe Awards for her portrayal of Sophia Petrillo, the sharp-tongued mother of Bea Arthur’s character, Dorothy Zbornack. She was also the author of the book, If I Knew Then, What I Know Now… So What?

In honor of Estelle, Lifetime TV, will air ten episodes of The Golden Girls featuring the best of Sophia on Friday, July 25. Fans can vote for their favorite episode on Lifetime’s website. I hope that you take the time to watch at least one episode as a way to mark the passing of a beautiful soul.

Age does not bring you wisdom, age brings you wrinkles ~ Estelle Getty


7 Responses to “Estelle Getty R.I.P. (1923-2008)”


  1. 1 Dougie Nugget
    July 23, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Man, I don’t know what it was but I love me some Golden Girls back in the day. I used to watch that show with my grandmoms. Them old white women were crazy, especially that….what was her name….you know….Blanche….yeah, Blanche. That ho was straight up freaky with her old ass. Even I might have dusted that thing off. Shit. I didn’t really care too much for this old bitch too much. I liked Blanche and that real crazy one….man, I can’t remember that ho…..she sells dog collars now or something… I don’t know….I saw her on the tv one night selling something. I can’t believe any of dem hos still alive to be honest. I mean they was old then, you what I’m saying?

    I’m out this bitch. Call it like you see it gangstas!

  2. 2 JC
    July 23, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    tv = small screen, movies = silver screen.

  3. July 23, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Dougie Nugget: I think a lot more of us watched TGG than are willing to admit. You must be a man who is very confident in his masculinity and African-Americanidness to volunteer personal information of this nature. I think the name you are thinking of is Betty White.

    JC: Thanks for the correction, you are a Godsend πŸ™‚

  4. 4 alwaysthatgirl
    July 23, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    πŸ™‚ Johnny. Everyone secretly loves TGG. Uve’ shown your soft underbelly now. haha

  5. July 24, 2008 at 2:33 am

    I remember TV back before it was funny. I’m glad we fixed that.

  6. 6 Frank
    July 24, 2008 at 9:44 am

    Johnny, she is right that age brings the wrinkles and not wisdom……….it astounds me how many older people haven’t a lick of wisdom.

    I was sorry to hear she had Alzheimers for the past 7 years.

    Always enjoyed that show–shows my age!!
    Frank


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,072,096 hits

Archives


