25
Jul
08

Velvet Underground – I’m Waiting for the Man

THE VELVET UNDERGROUND

Plenty of laudatory ink has dried on the page detailing the Velvet Underground’s far-reaching influence on dozens of bands and their faithful devotees. The Warhol Factory-spawned bastard godfathers of punk violently redefined the sleepy-eyed mid-60s rock n’ roll landscape.

Lou Reed penned anthems that plumbed the depths of NYC depravity. The junkies, the fairies, and the tranny street hustlers were central characters in Velvet Underground’s blight-ridden narratives. More than a few well-adjusted middle-class teenagers got their initiation into the world of S&M with VU lyrics describing “shiny, shiny, shiny boots of leather” and the “whiplash girl-child in the dark.”

I’m Waiting for the Man is choice track that details the adventures of a White junkie attempting to procure a $26 bag of smack in Harlem. After being accosted by neighborhood residents for chasing the dark-skinned ladies, the “big straw hat” wearing narcotics provider strolls up to deliver the protagonist his liberation powder. Reed’s vocal delivery bounces between panic-stricken urgency and bag-in-hand elation. The frenetic musical accompaniment intensifies the feeling of lurking danger during the uptown score.

While in NYC a few years back, I made a musical pilgrimage to the Man’s designated black-market intersection (Lexington Avenue and 125th Street). Instead of taking the taxi to LGA, I jumped on the A Train up to Harlem. Sadly, there was an Old Navy staring at me as I emerged from the subway. The landscape has changed considerably, but I am sure there is plenty of horse changing hands in El Barrio.

I’m waiting for my man
Twenty-six dollars in my hand
Up to Lexington, 125
Feel sick and dirty, more dead than alive
I’m waiting for my man

Hey, white boy, what you doin’ uptown?
Hey, white boy, you chasin’ our women around?
Oh pardon me sir, it’s the furthest from my mind
I’m just lookin’ for a dear, dear friend of mine
I’m waiting for my man

Here he comes, he’s all dressed in black
PR shoes and a big straw hat
He’s never early, he’s always late
First thing you learn is you always gotta wait
I’m waiting for my man

Up to a Brownstone, up three flights of stairs
Everybody’s pinned you, but nobody cares
He’s got the works, gives you sweet taste
Ah then you gotta split because you got no time to waste
I’m waiting for my man

Baby don’t you holler, darlin’ don’t you bawl and shout
I’m feeling good, you know I’m gonna work it on out
I’m feeling good, I’m feeling oh so fine
Until tomorrow, but that’s just some other time
I’m waiting for my man

I’d harbored the hope that the intelligence that once inhabited novels and films would ingest rock. I was, perhaps, wrong ~ Lou Reed


9 Responses to “Velvet Underground – I’m Waiting for the Man”


  1. 1 dummidumbwit
    July 26, 2008 at 11:41 am

    I wish that, I’d sailed the Darkened seas in a great big clipper ship, sailing from this land here to that, I’d put on a sailor’s suit and cap.

  2. 2 Manco
    July 26, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Dummi: For once – for once – could you leave a comment that’s worth a shit? I know I can be a bit of an ass, but come on, man. Johnny’s obviously familiar with the lyric, as am I, as is every person who likes the Velvet Underground. I just don’t see why you feel the need to take up space by leaving that comment? Do you want points for being a fan of the band? Okay, I award you 2 points for being a fan of the Velvet Underground. Have a nice day.

  3. 3 dummidumbwit
    July 26, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Jump in front of Novak’s vette!!!

  4. 4 Timotheus
    July 26, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Manco,

    You better hit her.

    That’s two points for me…still none for you, bro bro.

    Timotheus

  5. 5 dummidumbwit
    July 27, 2008 at 10:01 am

    There is no her here, the Romans were right feed em to the lions!!! Home schooling must have softened your brain!!!!

  6. 6 Manco
    July 28, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Timotheus receives two points. How wonderful for you, Tim-Tim. This must be the first time during your miserable existence that you’ve been able to feel like you’ve truly accomplished something. Way to go, champ!

  7. 7 Timotheus
    July 29, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Dummi,

    It is a Velvet lyric, dummy, and I thought you were a girl. Don’t blame home schooling for your effeminate postings.

    Timotheus

  8. 8 dummidumbwit
    July 29, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    OK, if it’s a Velvet lyric I take it back, but I hope you are 6 foot 9 and 275 lbs with a name like Timotheus gimp!! Hopefully we”re not annoying Gabriel here also?

  9. 9 Manco
    July 29, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Fuck Gabriel


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,067,081 hits

Archives


