16
Sep
08

My Favorite Things – John Coltrane

I always grooved hard on this John Coltrane number, despite its Rodgers-Hammerstein Sound of Music cheese-laden origin. When you 86 the kitten whiskers and crisp apple strudel lyrical nonsense, and add the soprano sax maestro’s glorious touch, great things were destined to happen.

The song was a gateway for many to Coltrane’s music due to its infectious melody and ease of recognition. Trane’s use of this pop standard as a vehicle for improvisational sonic flights was a stroke of brilliance. Every once in a while, cosmic musical psychonauts dip into the earthly plane to gather a few more followers.

From the liner notes for the album My Favorite Things:

“I’ve got to keep experimenting. I feel that I’m just beginning. I have part of what I’m looking for in my grasp, but not all.”

I think I know how you felt Trane. I think a lot of us do.


1 Response to “My Favorite Things – John Coltrane”


  1. September 17, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    Great taste Johnny, it is also one of my favs!


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,066,910 hits

Archives


