30
Dec
07

Shock Trooper in a Stupor

ramones.jpg

I will be exposing my readership to some of the most kick-ass tunes in the world via Youtube video clips. In the first installment of Johnnypeeper’s tune re-education camp, I have chosen some of the baddest mofos to ever hit the stage, The Ramones.

The song “Today Your Love, Tomorrow The World” is my absolute favorite Ramones jam and is a perfect example of their buzz-saw guitar attack and brilliant lyrics. Forget everything you know or have learned up to this point – The Ramones is gonna blow your feeble little minds.

I’m a shock trooper in a stupor
Yes I am.
I’m a Nazi schatze
Y’know I fight for fatherland
Little German boy
Being pushed around
Little German boy
In a German town
Today your love, tomorrow the World

Combining Nazi imagery with a longing to conquer the heart of a fair damsel is an unconventional songwriting theme, but the Ramones ain’t no two-bit punk band.

gabba-gabba-hey.jpg


7 Responses to “Shock Trooper in a Stupor”


  1. 1 no1plantman
    December 30, 2007 at 11:02 am

    No BS there JP, The Ramones are one kick -ass band. SOLID!

  2. December 31, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    I had the pleasure of seeing them on what was billed as their last tour. Good stuff. I’ll never forget the quick count before the launched into each song, “1,2,3,4…”

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    I feel very envious of you for seeing this incredible band live. I have only seen artifacts and memories in the Cleveland Rock and Roll Museum. One of my favorite bits was a set list that they used in concerts. There were about 27 songs listed and before each song there was the following entry:

    Dee-Dee – “1,2,3,4”

    I thought that was so rad.

  3. January 1, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Hey johnypeeper:
    This is off topic.
    I read your last response on my blog. Forget about it, it’s all cool 🙂
    By the way, I am terribly sorry but I accidentally deleted that last comment of yours…pushed the wrong Akismet button….I can’t believe I did that, but then I just woke up. I think we both are on the same page so I hope it doesn’t matter, I read the message. Gotta be more awake next time I use Akismet 🙂
    Happy New Year!

    Johnnypeeper’s response:

    No worries mate, I enjoyed the exchange. As of a couple of days ago, all of my comments to other blogs are labeled as spam and dumped in Aksimet. Basically, it is an attempt to suppress me and hinder my communication with others. I have numerous suspicions as to why this is occurring. People are out to get me – if I synthesize disparate streams of data, I can justify any rational or irrational belief.

    I am reading a lot on Aleister Crowley and sex magick, Thelema, and Qabalic illumination. I will probably have to abandon WordPress for a more liberating environment to get into the things I want to discuss. It has been an interesting few weeks, but Johnnypeeper’s acknowledged in his first post that he would not tolerate abuses or restrictions on what he typed or did. Straight up bullshit!

    Happy New Year to you as well fella.
    Johnnypeepers

  4. January 1, 2008 at 10:32 am

    hey johnnypeepers, you got an interesting place here. Though I have nv heard of the Ramones, will check em out.

    Happy New Year btw =]

  5. January 4, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Ramones = God.

    “I Don’t Wanna Live This Life” is a masterpeice.

  6. 7 no1plantman
    January 9, 2008 at 4:54 am

    Never heard of the Ramones? You either 10 years old or completely missed the revolution of rock called punk.


Leave a Reply

Johnny Peepers

----> is a socio-pathetic degenerate with a penchant for cheap booze, ruphy-laden broads, and dim sum soup.

a

Blog Stats

  • 1,072,185 hits

Archives


